The Little Things We Do

I like it when you call my name.
The hoarseness in your voice
The sweetness in every sound
Whenever you laugh
Whenever you groan
Whenever you snore.

I like it when you sing
You make it sound like a lullaby.
It comforts my soul
It makes my heart cry
It makes we want to hear more
Of the songs that I can call mine.

I like it when we’re just in idle.
The silence comforts us
The sound of you playing
The sound I make when working
The time you called just to sleep
Or when I just needed someone to talk with.

I like it when we argue on this small, petty things.
It’s kind of annoying yet amusing
On the right pronunciation of our names
When you called my game so lame
The music I listen to
And the things we’re both not into.

I like it when we’re on the same boat.
When we learn each other’s direction
On the things we both agreed.
It’s surprising to know
It’s amazing to see
The little things we do that sweetens the tea.

But most of all,
I like it when you try to pull me
When I keep pushing you away
Because I’m lost
Because I’m about to break
Because I’m being too much of myself.

When you appreciate me
For the little things I’ve done.
When you figure out what to say
The plain honesty and integrity
That keeps me awake at night
And sends shiver down to my spine.

Leave a comment