Embrace

“Just stay right here.”

As he pulled me closer to himself. There I buried my face in his body. Feeling his heartbeat. His breath. His warmth.

We were lying next to each other. Having deep and long conversations. Exchanging words. Getting angry then laughing at all. Then crying at some point.

“I hope you to be here because I felt comfortable.”

That’s it.

I was only there to comfort him and not to fall in love with him. It was an unspoken rule. Never to love a brokenhearted man. I swear I have already read that somewhere but it slippedslipped off of my mind when my suppressed feeling suddenly rose up and took some courage.

“What if I like you?”

“Stop it.”

“Stop what?”

“Stop it. Control it or you will just be hurt.”

Ah, it pierced through my body. I really felt alone in his embrace. He was stopping me right then and there without even a hint of regret or sadness.

Did he really not have a slight of fluttery feelings when I’m around him? Or when he gazed at me with his eyes full of emotions as if he’s ready to take a chance?

“Why?” I asked him. “It’s not like I’m asking you out right now.”

“I don’t want to take advantage of your feelings. You’ll just be hurt.”

“Can’t I just like you because I like you?”

Before the sun rose, I left his room with a broken heart. I never thought that I would love again this hard.

Leave a comment