Dancing in the Rain

I like it when it’s sunny, I could go wherever I want.
I could go swim in the vast ocean;
I could walk under the sun;
I could play under the clear skies.

But I worry when it gets dark.
It gets chilly through my bones.
It gets colder than the coffee I bought.
It keeps my head clouded with different thoughts.

But no one could stop the rain.
Not even the man who announced the weather today.
When it falls on my feet, when it drops in my skin.
When it wet my finely ironed clothes.

I keep on getting my hopes high.
Wondering when the sun will show up.
Thinking if I even brought that fancy umbrella with me.
Looking for a place to keep me warm.

But people started to dance in the midway.
As if they are not bothered with the rain.
Then you pulled my hand and invited me to take the chance.
Strange may it seems but you reassured me with that smile.

The rain didn’t stop, but the sky is clearing up.
As I took your hand and showed me the light.
It’s okay to be cold, it’s okay to wet your finely ironed clothes.
You don’t have to worry for the things that are not under your control.

When you’re not okay; when you feel blue.
When the sun you’ve been waiting doesn’t show up like it usually do.
And all there’s left is an old goody shoe.
Learn to dance even you can’t make the best move.

Leave a comment